DAS OPERNMAGAZIN

Tristan and Isolde in the open air: The Weinviertel Festival triumphs thanks to top-class singers!

The Ambassade Orchestra Vienna under the direction of Matthias Fletzberger showed its strengths in the first act and with a lean, bright string sound and precisely beginning solo passages of the woodwinds, something big could be expected for this opera premiere. In the further course of the evening, certainly also due to the numerous breaks in the rain and the associated assembly and dismantling of the instruments, the concentration of the orchestra musicians noticeably decreased. In the end, the conductor was only able to keep his orchestra together again and again in the love duet with clear signals.

(Phillip Richter, 08/24/2020)

DER NEUE MERKER

Only the solid playing has remained the same Ambassade Orchestra Vienna and the sovereign conductor leading through the evening Matthias Fletzberger.

It is impressive what the daring undertaking to bring the Wagner operas The Flying Dutchman and Tristan and Isolde to the stage in the - somewhat expanded - Weinviertel within a very short time, despite all adverse circumstances.

(Manfred A. Schmid, 08/20/2020)

DER NEUE MERKER

It's unbelievable how well the orchestra played under Matthias Fletzberger! If we hadn't known - no one would have thought how quickly they had learned this demanding piece of all things. Not only in the intoxication of love, but above all in the quiet, contemplative moments and scenes, one listened to the playing of the individual instruments with pleasure. And the tension in the brand scene did not end either.

(Sieglinde Pfabigan, August 18, 2020)

KURIER

"The conductor Matthias Fletzberger ensured a slim Wagner sound at the desk of the good Ambassade Orchestra."

(Peter Jarolin, August 17, 2020)

NÖN (Lower Austrian News)

Conductor Fletzberger brought together the feat of bringing works that are designed for orchestras of 60 to 70 musicians to the Poydium stage with 23 top-class musicians. "The idea of the smaller orchestra has proven itself particularly when it comes to keeping your distance," emphasizes Fletzberger.

There was also a top-class opera cast among the singers: Tomasz Konieczny, who is at home on every opera stage in the world, was the crowning highlight of the evening. Because such fantastic music should be carried into the world, but often this fails quite profanely because of the gigantic orchestra size - be it on the part of the orchestra or on the part of the venue.

So is it feasible to shrink an orchestra of this size with music of this caliber to less than a third? One could doubt that. But if a great like Matthias Fletzberger, with over ten years of experience in arranging, takes on this, there is nothing to fear.

On the contrary: music, good music, should be sung by an artistic elite, but on the part of the audience it should by no means be reserved for an elite. Conductor Fletzberger showed how it works during the festival.

(Werner Kraus, August 12, 2020)

FRANKFURTER ALLGEMEINE

The opening gala also demonstrates the great artistic potential that lies in the approximately sixty-strong orchestra, composed of musicians from Prague, Brno and Vienna under the direction of music director Fletzberger, and inspires the two great opera productions (“The Flying Dutchman” and “ Tristan und Isolde ”) - and to the coming year.

(Florian Amort, FAZ August 5, 2020)

NÖN (Lower Austrian News)

"Tribute should also be paid to the festival orchestra led by Matthias Fletzberger and Levente Török: The two offered music at the highest level."

(Werner Kraus, August 5th, 2020)

OPERAPLUS

The whole evening was unmistakably determined by the outstanding performance of Andreas Schager and the well-conducted play by the Orchestra of the State Opera conducted by Matthias Fletzberger.

It was hard to believe that the same state opera orchestra played (of course, in a much larger cast), which had fought so hard a month ago with Beethoven's Fidelio in the Estates Theater.

It was certainly the merit of the conductor Matthias Fletzberger, who led the orchestra with a balanced sound through the sudden musical twists of the ring

(Helena Havliková, 10.2018)

BACHTRACK

"Fletzberger knows his Wagner, especially the Ring, in which the Prague State Opera Orchestra glowed positively."

(Frank Kuznik, 10.2018,)

KLASIKAPLUS

"Matthias Fletzberger led the State Opera Orchestra to a remarkable performance - which remained consistently high throughout the evening. In the first work of the program - Overture to Rienzi - one could enjoy a beautifully phrased introduction.

Fletzberger did not emphasize the sharp dynamic contradictions, but rather dosed the passion in order to make it appear with overwhelming strength and festive effect. The ending of the overture did not sound noisy or pathetic, but simply "just" magnificent."

(Alena Sojková, 10.2018)

 PERFORMING ARTS JOURNAL TOKYO

"Up to and including the encore, all the pieces of the evening were well selected. The soloists worked very well with the conductor, who was also responsible for arranging the pieces. The Tokyo Mitaka Philharmonic Orchestra was able to fulfill the musical wishes of the conductor in a spirited and precise manner."

(Junko Shibatsuji, 03.2017)

Lower Austria state government

From 2010 to 2012, Mr. Matthias Fletzberger was a member of the expert committee for performing arts appointed by the Lower Austrian state government. In this function, Mr. Fletzberger not only made a significant contribution to the ongoing artistic and financial evaluation of the Lower Austrian theater locations, but was also significantly involved in the restructuring and partial reorientation of individual festivals. In this context, on behalf of the state, he was also sent to search commissions of advertised directorships (including Stadttheater Baden, Langenlois Castle Festival, etc.).

His work provided valuable support for the theater and festival landscape in Lower Austria and made a significant contribution to quality assurance and further development of the theater offer in the state.

Office of the Lower Austrian Provincial Government
Culture, Science and Education Group Art and Culture Department

MONTREAL GAZETTE

"Conductor Matthias Fletzberger was leading an orchestra that sounded both relaxed and rehearsed. String sounds were warm and balances refined ..."

NEWS

"An artist of first order … In the area of the late romanticism Fletzberger has to fear nobody. An extraordinary feeling for rhythm, inexhaustible strength, endless richness of moods and fabulous feeling for proportions"

(Heinz Sichrowsky, 01.2011)

THE PRESS

“Krenek's music with its powerful approach and its expressionistic pathos, its compelling choral scenes, its plastic coloring and elementary rhythm is extremely attractive. Matthias Fletzberger, supported by the excellent Austrian Chamber Symphony Orchestra ... realized it very confidently and impressively. "

(Gerhard Kramer)

SMALL NEWSPAPER

"Matthias Fletzberger conducts a meticulously rehearsed, wonderful interplay of singers and orchestra."

(Harald Steiner, 01.1999)

SALZBURGER NEWS

"The performance of the Austrian Chamber Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Matthias Fletzberger, including the preparation and careful musical direction, is of the best quality."

(Heinz Rögl)

Elisabeth Schwarzkopf

"I am not in the habit of giving recommendations, but this young man is not only a wonderful pianist but also a budding conductor. Whatever he will endeavor to do in music will surely warrant your interest and support."

(Elisabeth Schwarzkopf, 1988)

DAS OPERNMAGAZIN

Tristan und Isolde unter freiem Himmel: Die Weinviertler Festspiele triumphieren dank hochkarätiger Sängerbesetzung!

Das Ambassade-Orchester Wien unter der Leitung Matthias Fletzbergers zeigte im ersten Akt seine Stärken und ließ mit einem schlanken, hellen Streicherklang und präzise einsetzenden Soli-Passagen der Holzbläser etwas Großes für diese Opernpremiere erwarten. Im weiteren Verlauf des Abends, sicherlich auch aufgrund der zahlreichend Regenpausen und dem damit einhergehenden Auf- und Abbau der Instrumente, ließ die Konzentration der Orchestermusiker*innen jedoch merklich nach. Schlussendlich konnte der Dirigent im Liebesduett nur mit deutlicher Zeichengebung sein Orchester immer wieder zusammenhalten.

(Phillip Richter, 24.08.2020)

DER NEUE MERKER

Gleichgeblieben ist nur das solide aufspielende Ambassade Orchester Wien und der souverän durch den Abend leitende Dirigent Matthias Fletzberger.

Imponierend, was das wagemutige Unternehmen, die Wagneropern Der fliegende Holländer und Tristan und Isolde im – etwas erweiterten – Weinviertel innerhalb kürzester Zeit auf die Bühne zu bringen, allen widrigen Umständen zum Trotz zustande gebracht hat.

(Manfred A. Schmid, 20.08.2020)

DER NEUE MERKER

Unglaublich, wie gut das Orchester unter Matthias Fletzberger spielte! Wenn wir es nicht gewusst hätten – niemand hätte gedacht, in welch kurzer Zeit sie ausgerechnet dieses anspruchsvolle Stück erlernt hatten. Nicht nur im Liebesrausch, sondern vor allem in den leisen, besinnlichen Momenten und Szenen hörte man mit Vergnügen in das Spiel der einzelnen Instrumente hinein. Und auch in der Marke-Szene riss die Spannung nicht ab.

(Sieglinde Pfabigan, 18.08.2020)

KURIER

„Der Dirigent Matthias Fletzberger sorgte am Pult des guten Ambassade Orchesters für einen schlanken Wagner-Klang.“

(Peter Jarolin, 17. August 2020)

NÖN (Niederösterreichische Nachrichten)

Dirigent Fletzberger brachte das Kunststück zusammen, Werke, die für Orchester von 60 bis 70 Musikern ausgelegt sind, mit 23 hochkarätigen Musikern auf die Poydiumbühne zu bringen. „Gerade in Sachen Abstand halten hat sich die Idee des kleineren Orchesters sehr gut bewährt“, betont Fletzberger.

Auch bei den Sängerinnen und Sängern gab es eine hochkarätige Opernbesetzung: Tomasz Konieczny, der auf allen Opernbühnen der Welt zu Hause ist, war der krönende Höhepunkt des Abends. Denn solche fantastische Musik soll in die Welt getragen werden, aber oft scheitert dies ganz profan an der gigantischen Orchestergröße – sei es von Seiten des Orchesters oder von Seiten des Veranstaltungsortes.

Ist es also machbar ein Orchester dieser Größe mit Musik dieses Kalibers auf weniger als ein Drittel zu schrumpfen? Das könnte man bezweifeln. Doch, wenn eine Größe wie Matthias Fletzberger, mit über zehn Jahren Erfahrung im Arrangieren, sich dessen annimmt, ist nichts zu befürchten.

Im Gegenteil: Musik, gute Musik, sollte von einer Künstlerelite gesungen werden, aber sie sollte aufseiten des Publikums keinesfalls einer Elite vorbehalten sein. Dirigent Fletzberger zeigte im Rahmen der Festspiele, wie das geht.

(Werner Kraus, 12. August 2020)

FRANKFURTER ALLGEMEINE

Die Eröffnungsgala demonstriert auch das große künstlerische Potential, das in dem rund sechzigköpfigen Orchester, zu­sammengesetzt aus Musikern von Prag, Brno und Wien unter der Leitung von Mu­sikdirektor Fletzberger steckt, und macht Lust auf die beiden großen Opernproduktionen (,,Der fliegende Holländer“ und „Tristan und Isolde“) – und aufs kommende Jahr.

(Florian Amort, FAZ 5. August 2020 )

NÖN (Niederösterreichische Nachrichten)

„Tribut ist auch dem von Matthias Fletzberger und Levente Török geleiteten Festspielorchester zu zollen: Die beiden boten Musik auf höchstem Niveau.“

(Werner Kraus, 05. August 2020)

OPERAPLUS

„Der ganze Abend war unverkennbar durch … das bestens geleitete Spiel des Orchesters der Staatsoper unter der Leitung von Matthias Fletzberger bestimmt.

Man konnte kaum glauben, dass das gleiche Staatsopernorchester (natürlich in einer wesentlich größeren Besetzung) spielte, das vor einem Monat mit Beethovens Fidelio im Ständetheater so sehr gekämpft hatte.

Es war sicherlich das Verdienst des Dirigenten Matthias Fletzberger, der das Orchester durch die plötzlichen musikalischen Wendungen des Rings mit ausgewogenem Klang führte, wenn auch die Blechbläser nicht immer intonationsgenau waren. Das Forum Karlin ist natürlich nicht Bayreuth. … Aber selbst unter diesen Bedingungen wurde der Klang des Orchesters nicht in ein undefiniertes Mezzoforte gezwängt, sonder durch eine Palette von Farben und dynamischen Farbtönen in einem sanften symphonischen Motivbogen quasi leicht hingeworfen, Motive, die in großer Artikulation und Plastizität als musikalische „Porträts“ des Todes, Schicksal, Fluch, Ring, Gold, schwingen. Motive des Heldentums von Siegmund und Siegfried, Walhall, Wotan und seinen Speeren, Wald- und Waldrauschen oder den Nibelungen-Ambossen.“

(Helena Havliková, 10.2018)

BACHTRACK

„Fletzberger kennt seinen Wagner, besonders den Ring, in dem das Prager Staatsopernorchester positiv glühte.“

(Frank Kuznik, 10.2018, )

KLASIKAPLUS

„Matthias Fletzberger führte das Staatsopernorchester zu einer bemerkenswerten Leistung – die den ganzen Abend konstant hoch blieb. Im ersten Werk des Programms – Ouvertüre zu Rienzi – konnte man sich an einer wunderschön phrasierten Einleitung erfreuen.

Fletzberger betonte nicht die scharfen dynamische Widersprüche, er dosierte vielmehr die Leidenschaft, um sie dann mit überwältigender Kraft und festlicher Wirkung erscheinen zu lassen. Der Abschluss der Ouvertüre klang nicht lärmend oder pathetisch, sondern einfach „nur“ prächtig.“

(Alena Sojková, 10.2018)

 PERFORMING ARTS JOURNAL TOKYO

„Bis einschließlich der Zugabe waren alle Stücke des Abends gut ausgewählt. Die Solisten haben sehr gut mit dem Dirigenten, der auch für die Arrangements der Stücke zuständig war, harmoniert. Das Tokyo Mitaka Philharmonic Orchestra konnte die musikalischen Wünsche des Dirigenten temperamentvoll und präzise umsetzen.“

(Junko Shibatsuji, 03.2017)

NÖ Landesregierung

Herr Matthias Fletzberger war von 2010 bis 2012 Mitglied des von der NÖ Landesregierung bestellten Gutachtergremiums für darstellende Kunst. In dieser Funktion hat Herr Fletzberger nicht nur einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur laufenden künstlerischen und finanziellen Evaluierung der niederösterreichischen Theaterstandorte geleistet, sondern war auch darüber hinaus maßgeblich in die Restrukturierung und teilweise Neuorientierung einzelner Festivals eingebunden. In diesem Rahmen wurde er im Auftrag des Landes auch in Findungskommissionen ausgeschriebener Intendanzen entsandt (u.a. Stadttheater Baden, Schlossfestspiele Langenlois u.a.).

Seine Tätigkeit stellte eine wertvolle Unterstützung für die Theater- und Festivallandschaft in Niederösterreich dar und hat zur Qualitätssicherung und Weiterentwicklung des Theaterangebotes im Bundesland maßgeblich beigetragen.

Amt der Niederösterreichischen Landesregierung
Gruppe Kultur, Wissenschaft und Unterricht Abteilung Kunst und Kultur

MONTREAL GAZETTE

„Dirigent Matthias Fletzberger leitete ein Orchester, das sicher und gut geprobt klang. Der Streicherklang war warm und die Balance ausgeglichen. Fletzberger zeigte aber auch ein Händchen für lyrische Zwischenspiele ….“

NEWS

„Ein Künstler der ersten Reihe … Im Bereich der Spätromantik hat Fletzberger heute niemanden zu fürchten. Fulminantes Rhythmusgefühl, unerschöpfliche Kraft, ein endloser Reichtum an Stimmungen und fabulöses Gefühl für Proportionen.“

(Heinz Sichrowsky, 01.2011)

DIE PRESSE

„Kreneks Musik mit ihrem kraftvollen Zugriff und ihrem expressionistischen Pathos, ihren zwingend aufgebauten Chorszenen, ihrer plastischen Farbgebung und elementaren Rhythmik ist von hohem Reiz. Matthias Fletzberger hat sie, unterstützt von den exzellenten Österreichischen Kammersymphonikern … sehr sicher und eindrucksvoll realisiert.“

(Gerhard Kramer)

KLEINE ZEITUNG

„Matthias Fletzberger leitet ein minutiös geprobtes, wunderbares Zusammenspiel von Sängern und Orchester.“

(Harald Steiner, 01.1999)

SALZBURGER NACHRICHTEN

„Die Leistung der Österreichischen Kammersymphoniker unter der Leitung von Matthias Fletzberger, auch dessen Einstudierung und umsichtige musikalische Leitung ist von bester Qualität.“

(Heinz Rögl)

Elisabeth Schwarzkopf

„I am not in the habit of giving recommendations, but this young man is not only a wonderful pianist but also a budding conductor. Whatever he will endeavor to do in music will surely warrant your interest and support“

(Elisabeth Schwarzkopf, 1988)