Matthias FletzbergerMatthias Fletzberger is regarded as an “artist in the front row” and a specialist in German repertory. His profound knowledge of the works of Mozart, Beethoven, Wagner, Strauss and Korngold is particularly valued.

in summer 2021 he conducted the newly founded festival “Klassik am Platz ”including“ Ariadne auf Naxos (with Camilla Nylund) and “Das Lied von der Erde” (with Nadine Weissmann and Benjamin Bruns). in the August 2020 was he more musical Head of Weinviertel Festival with Wagner's “Tristan und Isolde” (with Martina Serafin, Hermine May Günther Groissböck / René Pape, Thomas Johannes Mayer) and the “Flying Dutchman” (with Tomasz Konieczny). D.Before that he worked at the Sofia National Opera in preparation for a new Richard Strauss production “Elektra”.

In recent years he has enjoyed great success as a conductor in America (New York / Lincoln Center, Los Angeles / Walt-Disney Hall, Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver, etc.), Far East (Bunka Kaikan Tokyo, Seoul Arts Center, NCPA Beijing, Oriental Art Center Shanghai), but also in Europe (Prague State Opera, Sofia Philharmonic, Vienna Musikverein). In Seoul he was also the artistic and administrative director and conductor of the first “Ring des Nibelungen” in Korea (director: Achim Freyer).

His musical talent attracted attention early on, at the age of 5 he was one of the youngest students of all time at the Vienna University of Music. As a winner of important competition prizes (including Busoni / Bozen 1984, Rubinstein / Tel Aviv 1986, Maria Callas / Athens 1988, Bösendorfer / Vienna 1989), he performed intensively as a pianist with around 1,000 performances in just 5 years around the world on all continents.

Motivated by Rolf Liebermann and Elisabeth Schwarzkopf and trained by Ferdinand Leitner and Carl Melles, he turned to conducting. The first successes as a conductor at the Wiener Festwochen followed quickly. Further engagements followed at the Prague State Opera and at the St. Gallen Theater (Switzerland).

After a 10-year hiatus, Matthias Fletzberger returned to operas and concert stages around the world in 2010, initially as a pianist and soon again as a conductor.

In 2011 the CD / DVD album "Violin in Motion" was released by "Deutsche Grammophon" and two more albums in a row by "Preiser Records", including the first recording of Joseph Marx's 2nd violin sonata. His work in concerts and operas with singers such as Daniela Fally, Elina Garanca, Martina Serafin and singers such as Benjamin Bruns, Günther Groissböck, Thomas Hampson, Renè Pape, Andreas Schager, Daniel Schmutzhardt or Ramon Vargas, as well as his performances as a pianist and Chamber musician.

Orchestras, audiences and critics particularly emphasize his ability to work out the works of German Romanticism in an authentic and multicolored manner and to lead orchestras to amazing performances in the shortest possible time.

Matthias FletzbergerMatthias Fletzberger gilt als „Künstler der ersten Reihe“ und als Spezialist für die deutsche Romantik. Besonders geschätzt wird seine profunde Kenntnis der Werke von Wagner und Strauss.

im Sommer 2021 dirigierte er beim neu gegründeten Festival „Klassik am Platz“ u.a. „Ariadne auf Naxos (mit Camilla Nylund) und „Das Lied von der Erde“ (mit Nadine Weissmann und Benjamin Bruns) . Im August 2020 war er musikalischer Leiter der Weinviertler Festspiele mit Wagners „Tristan und Isolde“ (u.a. mit Martina Serafin, Hermine May Günther Groissböck/René Pape, Thomas Johannes Mayer) und dem „Fliegenden Holländer“ (mit Tomasz Konieczny). Davor war er an der Nationaloper Sofia zur Vorbereitung einer neue Produktion von Richard Strauss „Elektra“ tätig.

Als Dirigent feierte er in den letzten Jahren große Erfolge in Amerika (New York / Lincoln Center, Los Angeles /Walt-Disney Hall, Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver, etc.) Fernost (Bunka Kaikan Tokyo, Seoul Arts Center, NCPA Peking, Oriental Art Center Shanghai), aber auch in Europa (Staatsoper Prag, Philharmonie Sofia, Wiener Musikverein). In Seoul war er 2018-19 künstlerisch-administrativer Leiter und Dirigent des ersten „Ring des Nibelungen“ in Korea (Regie: Achim Freyer).

Bereits früh erregte sein musikalisches Talent Aufmerksamkeit, mit 5 Jahren war er einer der jüngsten Studenten aller Zeiten an der Wiener Musikuniversität. Als Preisträger bedeutender Wettbewerbspreise (u.a. Busoni/Bozen 1984, Rubinstein/Tel Aviv 1986, Maria Callas/Athen 1988, Bösendorfer / Wien 1989) führte ihn eine intensive Konzerttätigkeit als Pianist mit rund 1.000 Auftritten in nur 5 Jahren rund um die Welt auf alle Kontinente.

Motiviert durch Rolf Liebermann und Elisabeth Schwarzkopf und ausgebildet von Ferdinand Leitner und Carl Melles wandte er sich dem Dirigieren zu. Rasch folgten erste Erfolge als Dirigent bei den Wiener Festwochen Die von ihm geleiteten Produktionen „Die Zauberflöte“ 1991 und „Die schöne Helena“ 1993 wurden per Eurovision in ganz Europa übertragen). Weitere Engagements folgten an der Prager Staatsoper sowie am Theater St. Gallen (Schweiz).

Nach einer 10-jährigen Auszeit kehrte Matthias Fletzberger im Jahr 2010 zunächst als Pianist und bald auch wieder als Dirigent auf die Opern und Konzertbühnen der Welt zurück.

Im Jahr 2011 erschien das CD/DVD-Album „Violin in Motion“ bei der „Deutsche Grammophon“ sowie in Folge zwei weitere Alben bei „Preiser Records“, darunter die Erstaufnahme der 2. Violinsonate von Joseph Marx. Hochgeschätzt ist auch seine Arbeit in Konzert und Oper mit Sängerinnen wie Daniela Fally, Elina Garanca, Martina Serafin und Sängern wie Benjamin Bruns, Günther Groissböck, Thomas Hampson, Renè Pape, Andreas Schager, Daniel Schmutzhardt oder Ramon Vargas, sowie seine Auftritte als Pianist und Kammermusiker.

Besonders hervorgehoben wird von Orchestern, Publikum und Kritik seine Fähigkeit, die Werke der deutschen Romantik authentisch und vielfarbig zu erarbeiten und Orchester in kürzester Zeit zu erstaunlichen Leistungen zu führen.